Learn About The Fundamentals of AC Grid Emulation

This webinar will review the fundamentals of AC Grid Emulation for testing applications across the smart grid and electric vehicle charging markets. Regenerative Grid Simulators are the engineer’s tool for testing the utility grid, PV/grid-tied inverters, energy storage systems, electric vehicles, and EV charging.

Testing to grid-tied standards such as IEEE 1547 and UL 1741 can become very complex and time-consuming without the right capabilities. Regenerative power, Power-Hardware-in-the-Loop (PHIL), wide true-power operating envelopes, galvanic isolation and AC loading capability provides significant advantages for testing. Learn about the most effective test approaches and solutions to ensure accuracy, product performance, safety, energy efficiency, and reduced time to market. Example test applications include power grid management, Solar PV inverters, energy storage systems, OBC, V2G, DC fast chargers, and more.

Key Technical Concepts:

  • Industry test approaches for simulating AC networks
  • How to effectively test to grid-tied standards, worldwide
  • The advantages of PHIL
  • Industry use cases and applications
  • How to select a grid simulator


Presenter:
Brian Hsu
Product Manager
NH Research (NHR)
Date: Tuesday, March 15th, 2022
Time: 11am PT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET


If you cannot attend the live event, please register and we will send you the recording.

Webinar Speaker

Brian Hsu - Product Manager at NH Research

Brian Hsu has over 20 years of experience developing automated test systems for power-related industries such as renewable energy. Brian worked as an Application Engineering Manager at National Instruments and has four patents for electrical hybrid energy system in USPTA. As the Product Manager at NH Research, Brian is responsible for the technical development and launch of new, industry-driven hardware and software with a focus on AC power solutions.